Kitty Burns || 22nd Birthday Pt.2

My whole entire birthday was spent indulging in amazing food, more amazing food, and even more amazing food! On most days, I feel like my choices of where to eat are generally overlooked when the family is deciding on where we should go because the options I suggest are either too “healthy” or too “hippy”; so of course, on Monday I chose to exert my birthday girl powers and make all the food decisions for the day.

I had been wanting to try the food at Kitty Burns for the longest time since seeing photos of their uniquely designed cafรฉ all over Instagram, and I finally made a visit here for my birthday brunch. My initial concerns after finding out that they don’t take bookings on public holidays were that it would be rather crowded and there would be a long wait for a table. Thankfully, this was not the case as there was plenty of seating available when we arrived around 11.

I think I fell in love almost instantly with the amount of natural light and overall aesthetics of the place. It was even better that the weather was perfect that day! I wore a more summer-appropriate dress that I got off Princess Polly, and though I usually go for dark or neutral colours, the bright red was a refreshing change that has made me start thinking about incorporating more colour into my wardrobe. I went with a red lip to match in the shade “Snow White” from NYX. I love bold lip colours but you really have to be careful when applying them as any mess ups will be extremely noticeable.

Alright, enough girly talk. Onto the food!

The menu items we ordered were the grapefruit + granola, popcorn chilli chicken + waffles, meet mr burns, and ho chi minh kitty. Our meals were all presented beautifully and arrived super quickly. I admit, I had some slight jealousy over everyone else’s food but the granola was surprisingly filling and felt clean and healthy – a great way to kick off being 22! Everyone else really enjoyed their meals and Kitty Burns definitely hits the nail on the head with creativity and presentation.

I ordered an almond milk cappuccino in a large, which they apparently only do in a takeaway cup. I honestly wasn’t too blown away by their coffee, although almond milk does tend to be a bit of a hit and miss with anywhere that does coffee. However, I was surprised to see that there was no branding on the takeaway cup – something I was expecting from a cafรฉ like this. I don’t know for sure how many takeaways they do each day but if it’s a relatively decent amount I’d suggest that they look into it. People tend to pay attention to where others grab their coffee fix and having a cute logo or something on it could always be beneficial in terms of building more brand awareness and recognition.

Overall, this is definitely a place that’s ideal for both one-on-ones and larger groups. There’s an element of interest in each and every menu item and I think that’s one of the key strengths about Kitty Burns – it makes you plan on coming back to try more before you’ve even settled the bill!

Kitty Burns Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 thoughts on “Kitty Burns || 22nd Birthday Pt.2

Share your thoughts

