Brunch Date at Rustica Canteen || Review

My sister suggested we try this place called Rustica Canteen and I had seen plenty of tempting photos all over instagram of this place and their doughnuts. We were in need of a good brunch spot in the city before engaging in some retail therapy so the night before we were going through the menu and sussing out what they had. The prices seemed average for your usual foodie hotspots nowadays so we figured, what the hell let’s give it a go.

Rustica Canteen is hidden away in a alleyway close to Melbourne Central but despite this, there was an expected wait before we could get a table. We were told the wait would be approximately 10 minutes but in less than 5 we were called in and seated. The coffee was just what I needed after being somewhat deprived and experiencing withdrawal symptoms whilst overseas.

The cafรฉ isn’t very big but it’s definitely got that quaint rustic feel going on. It was fairly loud in there and there were people constantly coming through the door. Although it was busy, our food came out super quick! I decided to go for the poached eggs and asparagus on toast with hommus. It was so much better than I expected it to be and so was so glad I ordered it. The portion was perfect too so I wasn’t overly full. My sister had been eyeing the waffle with mascarpone and she loved her meal too.

The waiter was friendly and observant, replacing our water before it got too low and noticing when my coffee was all gone. I can imagine that this place could get quite hectic on the weekends as we went on a weekday, but I’m keen on making another visit some time soon.

Rustica Canteen Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Share your thoughts

