Our Glamping Experience at Cosy Tents

Year after year I’ve attempted to master the element of surprise for whatever special occasion me and the boo are celebrating. Secrecy is usually limited to undisclosed details of the specifics of a certain known plan. This year for his birthday, I wanted to organise something completely unexpected and away from anything that could remind us of our usual daily routines. We’ve always talked about cozying up by a fireplace and roasting marshmallows; and being away from the city at night so that we can see the sky light up with rarely seen stars. Unlike the boo, I’m not the biggest fan of immersing myself in nature. So, I figured, why not do just that?

Glamping seemed like the perfect solution. A good hybrid between outdoor exploring and the luxury of a hotel. Upon doing some research, I came across Cosy Tents. There were many positive reviews online, and on top of that they have an incredible website. As an IT/Marketing student with a deep appreciation for seamless and aesthetically pleasing UI/UX design, I found myself growing more and more excited over this idea. The Cosy Tents website is extremely informative about the facilities available, items that will be provided, and recommendations of what to bring. There are also many images provided to illustrate to potential glampers what to expect. The booking process was extremely easy and communication was fast and friendly. In the lead up to the date of our stay, I received reminders via both email and text about my booking with useful details on getting to the location.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

I planned this trip a few weeks in advance and for months we had had frosty, windy, rainy weather and absolutely no summer-like days. I’d thought, how perfect is this trip going to be when it is cold outside and we’re snuggling up by the campfire and taking shelter in our fancy bell tent? And of all days, Thursday 17th November ended up being the hottest day we have had in 8 whole months. Thirty degrees and no air conditioning! Definitely not what I had in mind when planning this glamping experience. Nevertheless, it was a great experience and we’re keen on making another visit in the colder months next year.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The bell tent I booked was a 5m one called Newport. Inside we had a very plush queen size bed, bath and face towels, some crockery and cutlery, a couple of wine glasses, an esky, a vanity mirror, and a bose speaker. I found the pricing quite reasonable and it is pretty much what you would expect to pay for one night in an average hotel, but you also get to enjoy this unique experience!

All I really had to worry about bringing was enough clothes and enough food. Even food and water wasn’t too much of a concern as Daylesford is only about 10 minutes away. I prepared some crackers, cheese, blueberries, carrot sticks and dip for our afternoon snack and a bottle of sauvignon blanc to go along with it. This was relatively easy to bring along without worrying too much about the food going off. If you are packing food, I would suggest bringing a mini esky along with you and an ice block to keep the food fresh and cool.

The barbecues at the campsite are great and making use of them is recommended! We didn’t have any issues with it being overcrowded or having to fight over facilities, and everything is kept really tidy and clean. There were a lot of flies during the day though, much more than I was prepared for! The heat didn’t help too but we survived 🙂

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

One of the worst memories I have from back in school camp was the lack of ability to maintain a normal standard of hygiene. We either had no bathroom facilities, a porta-loo, or very very unsanitary bathrooms in our cabins. However, on this occasion, there were amazing bathroom facilities. The shower was even better than our one at home right now. Soap, shampoo, body wash, etc. were all provided. The bathrooms were well lit, clean, and designed so nicely.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

For dinner, I decided that we could use the provided barbecue to make pizza. I chopped up and prepared the ingredients the day before. It was super dark out and there were lots of mozzies. Getting bitten was inevitable! Regardless, the pizzas turned out great. We were sooo tired by the end of the day from all the walking and the heat, that we fell asleep straight after dinner and missed out on making smores by the campfire. Looking forward to doing that the next time around 🙂

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I baked up a batch of 12 healthy banana raspberry oatmeal muffins the night before and packed a few for our breakfast on Friday morning. I’ve never really tried baking from scratch on my own before. It was messy and took three times as long as the recipe said it would, but they came out really good. I actually prefer them over other muffins because all the ingredients were relatively healthy and there was no added sugar!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

I would recommend anyone looking to get away from the city and just wind down and relax to take a trip out to Daylesford and spend the night here. Check out my vlog on my YouTube channel and let me know if you have been glamping before or would like to ^_^

Share your thoughts

